Cymraeg icon Cymraeg
St David Award 2023 trophy

Still time left to nominate a hero for the St David Awards

Mae gennych amser o hyd i enwebu arwr ar gyfer Gwobrau Dewi Sant

The First Minister is today encouraging people to nominate their everyday hero for the annual St David Awards.

The St David Awards are the national awards of Wales and recognise the phenomenal work carried out by extraordinary individuals and groups.

A shortlist of nominees for each category will be chosen by an independent expert panel, which is looking for people who have carried out selfless acts to support the community. The winners, including the recipient of the First Minister’s award, will be announced at a special ceremony in 2024.

The award categories are:

  • Critical Worker (Key Worker)
  • Environment Champion
  • Bravery
  • Community Spirit
  • Culture
  • Sport
  • Business
  • Innovation, Science and Technology
  • Young Person
  • First Minister's Special Award

First Minister Mark Drakeford said:

“For more than 10 years, the St David Awards have recognised heroes from across Wales who have gone beyond the call of duty to help other people.

“Nominations for this year’s awards close on 19 October – now’s the time to nominate someone who deserves recognition and has helped to make Wales or the world a better place.”

Last year’s winners included two school pupils whose quick thinking averted a potential tragedy on the M4; a team of academics who developed a blood test that detects bowel cancer at an early stage and a group of volunteers who helped match more than 1,000 Ukrainian refugees with host families in South Wales.

Nominations can be made via the St David Awards website.