Cymraeg icon Cymraeg

Pharmacy: Delivering a Healthier Wales Delivery Board appoints new members

Y Bwrdd Cyflawni newydd, Fferylliaeth: Cyflawni Cymru Iachach yn penodi aelodau

The Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Wales, Andrew Evans has today [Tuesday 28th] announced the  board members appointed to the Pharmacy: Delivering a Healthier Wales Delivery Board.

The Board has been established in response to the Welsh Pharmaceutical Committee’s report Pharmacy: Delivering a Healthier Wales.  The report outlines the pharmacy profession’s commitment to working in partnership with the Welsh Government, the NHS, the social care sector and public to maximise the profession’s contribution to a sustainable health care system and improved health and well-being of the nation.

To deliver the profession’s vision for 2030 the report lists the specific goals to be achieved by 2022. The establishment of a Delivery Board will coordinate and support the implementation of these goals which have been identified as the critical building blocks underpinning the longer term vision.

The Board will be chaired by Darren Hughes, Director of the Welsh NHS Confederation, and will meet quarterly. Additional meetings may be held more frequently if required and if necessary, decisions can be made out of committee.

The first meeting of the Delivery Board will be held virtually  in the summer and will discuss what the pharmacy profession has learned from COVID-19 which can contribute to Pharmacy: Delivering a Healthier Wales.

Minister for Health and Social Services, Vaughan Gething, said:

“I’m pleased we have established the Delivery Board with members representing the breadth of the pharmacy profession and includes both pharmacists and pharmacy technicians in primary, secondary care and community pharmacy. They will help us to make choices and shape policy that supports the sector across Wales. I look forward to working with the board in future.”

Notes to editors


Darren Hughes – Chair

Sarah Blythe Gray – Primary Care, Pharmacy Technician, Powys Teaching Health Board

Clare Clement – Primary Care, Pharmacist, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board

Eryl Smeethe – Primary Care, Pharmacist, Aneurin Bevan University Health Board

Sarah Goman – Secondary Care Pharmacy Technician, Velindre University NHS Trust

Eleri Schiavone (nee Lougher) – Secondary Care Pharmacist, Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board

Geraldine McCaffrey – Secondary Care Pharmacist, Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board

Kathryn Davies – Primary Care/Community Pharmacy - Pharmacy Technician, Hywel Dda University Health Board

James Doble – Community Pharmacist

Sudhir Sehrawat - Community Pharmacist

Margaret Allan – Health Education and Improvement Wales

Marc Donovan – Community Pharmacy Wales

Mark Gumbleton – School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Cardiff University

Sarah Hiom – Research Strategy Implementation Group

Elen Jones – Royal Pharmaceutical Society

Andrew Morris – School of Pharmacy, Swansea University

Jonathan Simms – Chief Pharmacists, Wales

Cheryl Way – NHS Wales Informatics Service

Geraint Young – Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK

Brian Moon – Lay member

Andrew Evans – Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Wales

Lynne Schofield – Head of Pharmacy and Prescribing, Welsh Government

Natalie Proctor – Clinical Fellow, Welsh Government

Lloyd Hambridge – Clinical Fellow, HEIW/Welsh Government